Love of Marion Recap

Thank You!

Love of Marion 2016 was a major success as Marion supporters young and old, decked in their red and gold, came out to enjoy great food, fun and friendships on Friday, March 4. Thanks to all event attendees, contributors and sponsors for your support in the work of this great school district.

Check out the photos »








“Best Dressed” Contest








“Building Spirit” Award
Emerson Elementary


Jen O’Brien

Madonna Putnam

Michele Weisinger






MISD “Leader Award” Recipients
Nominated by their peers, this award recognizes educators or staff who go above and beyond their “normal” duties.
Jen O’Brien, Emerson Elementary Kindergarten Teacher
Madonna Putnam, Marion High School Special Education Teacher
Michele Weisinger, Francis Marion Intermediate and Emerson Elementary Art Teacher








Being Marion Essay Honorees

Participating VMS students wrote essays describing what it means to be a marion student. Contest winners were:
Chris Burwinkel
April Lawyer
Alyvia Eldridge
Keara McGuire


Appetizers & Desserts
Special thanks to LJ’s Catering of Marion for the fabulous appetizer and dessert bar!



Thank You Event Contributors!

AirFX Trampoline Park
Gary Albaugh, ’74
Ali’s Weeds
Evelyn Beck
Betty Jane Candies & Ice Cream
Blank Park Zoo
Angela Bys ’07
Cedar Rapids Bank and Trust
Cedar Rapids Kernels
Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
Chicago Bears
Chicago Cubs
Chick-fil-A Lindale
Phil Cochran (Vernon Middle School)
Connie Miller, DDS
Cost Cutters
Country Financial
Fosters Heating & Air
Frontier Co-op
Green Bay Packers
Hills Bank & Trust Co.
Harold & Joyce Hutchins ‘54
Iowa Children’s Museum
Iowa Cubs
Jules Bakery
Kathy’s Pies
Kirkwood Community College
Victor & Patricia Klopfenstein
Linn Area Credit Union
Marion Foundation
Mark Morgan, ’75
Minnesota Timberwolves
Minnesota Twins
Mr Beans
Mt. Mercy University
Old Creamery Theatre
Penguin’s Comedy Club
Perfect Game
Philip’s Diamond Shop
Bonnie Raasch
Raining Rose
Ramsey’s Metro Market
Kevin Schuver, ’07
Shive-Hattery, Inc.
Sparkling Image Car Wash
The Chocolate Shop
The Kettle House
The Playstation
Theatre Cedar Rapids
Wehrenberg Theatres
Wells Fargo
Wit’s End
Scott & Nancy Wittstruck
Tom & Diane Zrudsky



Copyright © 2017 Marion Independent School Foundation & Alumni Association